Zita Bružaitė

Sonnets and Dances

PI  New Music Communication Centre, 2008

The first compact disc Sonnets and Dances gave a meaning to the five-year long creative explorations and discoveries by composer Zita Bružaitė. The release emphasizes a diversity of chamber music which is presented through the records of 32 musicians performing in the ensembles of different composition. In the Sonnets and Dances the music of the composer moved away from the conceptual ideas in order to highlight the concertare – making music together - the idea. In most of the cases the performers were the initiators of the new pieces as well as compositional solutions. Symbolically, that on a Global Music Day celebration at the Kaunas Artists’ House Z. Bružatė was handed a glass disc – “Real Music” nomination. The release of the CD was sponsored by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Lithuania.

By Dainora Merčaitytė, 2nd October, 2008

1.      Sonnet I (2003) for flute, violin, cello, marimba |  6'55
Andrius Radziukynas, Giedrė Vitkauskienė, Vidas Jackūnas, Saulius Auglys


2.      Sonnet II Rain Loves Me (2003) for soprano, piano & string quartet | 6'02
Skaidra Jančaitė, Aušra Bartkevičiūtė, Kaunas String Quartet:
Karolina Beinarytė, Dalia Terminaitė, Dovilė Sauspreikšaitytė, Saulius Bartulis

3.      Sonnet III Alla Luna (2004) for soprano, oboe & piano | 6'07
Sabina Martinaitytė, Robertas Beinaris, Audronė Eitmanavičiūtė

4.      Sonnet IV (2005) for violin, cello & piano | 7'05
Armonas Trio: Ingrida Armonaitė,
Rimantas Armonas, Irena Uss

5.      Sonnet V A Cristo crucificado (2006) for soprano, flute, viola & harpsichord | 7'10
Natalija Katilienė
Chamber Music ensemble Vilniaus Arsenalas: Laima Šulskutė, Rolandas Romoslauskas, Sergejus Okruško

6.      Sonnet VI (2006) for clarinet, violin & piano | 5'55
Antanas Taločka, Aidas Strimaitis, Rūta Mikelaitytė

7.      Sonnet VII Winter’s Tale (2007) for soprano & piano | 8'30
Irena Milkevičiūtė, Birutė Vainiūnaitė

8.      Dance in Re(d) (2005) for flute, clarinet, cello & piano | 8'25
Andrius Radziukynas, Julius Černius, Mindaugas Bačkus, Rokas Zubovas

9.      Dance in Blue (2006) for string quartet | 7'51
String Quartet Collegium: Ilona Klusaitė, Dalia Aleksandravičienė, Žaneta Janonienė,
Virginijus Tamulis